Why you should love working with MBAs

SAS / Publicis Consultants | UK  have a strategic partnership with Ashridge Business School now entering its third year.  A key part of this is that every year we have the privilege of hosting an MBA’s thesis project.  I’m pleased to add that so far we are 2 for 2 with projects passing “with Distinction.”

I interviewed candidates yesterday for this year’s project, which will be an internal one helping us with a major global initiative, as opposed to a client challenge.

One of the candidates presented his initial thinking on the brief we provided.  Inspired me, made me realise I was operating a bit on blinkered auto-pilot in my approach to the project.

I don’t think running out and getting an MBA is the answer, necessarily, but I do think involving the structured approach and thinking that MBAs bring to the process can provide immense value to any internal or external communication project.  You don’t have to take their advice or do what they say; you should listen with open ears and an open mind.

I’d encourage anyone in our business to give it a go.

—–

PS – The Alessi kettle arrived.  A work of Kafkaesque beauty and an example of function leading to beautiful design.  The 2-tone steam whistle never ceases to delight and make me smile.

Leave a Reply

